Frustration!!

I have been working in HR for nearly 11 years now, I recently took a job, which at interview sounded brilliant: I would be tasked with overhauling the HR function and basically redesigning it, all seemed brilliant...... then the reality of the job started to set in: the current HR department was staffed with people that the CEO had just placed into the function (one from accounts?? and the other is a business studies PHD student, neither of them have any interest in HR, nor do they have any previous experience. The department was initially set up via an HR consultancy, so all of the templates they left with the company were wildly out of date when I started looking at them. They were not conducting RTW checks correctly and had incorrectly been issuing contracts that were either incorrect, missing clauses, or just completely out of date. The policies here are ridiculoisly amateur, to the point there are 4 conflicting AMP's all of which are available to all staff, it soon became apparent that this was not the job I was sold, I have tried to discuss this with the CEO, but there is no understanding of an HR function at all, no amount of explaining risk has made a different, I am just met with 'we'll just pay it if that happens' I have been witness to people punching other employee's only to be given no warning or put through disciplinary because of their job title, it is making me physically and mentally ill, the problem is, I am not in a position to just leave a job, and HR work is not rife in my area, I cannot travel due to a disability. Does anyone have any advice as to how I can keep sane whilst I start the long process of trying to find another job?

• Hi Phil