I've just gained my very first HR Advisor role! Any advice?

Hi all,

As the title suggests, today I was very, very happy to acquire my first HR Advisory role after a number of years of trying to progress! 

I'll be working in a team that solely deals with sickness advisory support/case work. I should also state that I've never worked within this organisation before so I'm sure that I'll be able to get some tips and tricks internally when I start in a few weeks time.

However, before that I wanted to try and get some feedback about how you all coped with your step up to the Advisory level?
Was there anything that you wish you'd known then that you do now?
Do you have any tips that you think could make the transitional process easier for me or potholes that I should look to avoid?

Your advice doesn't have to directly related to sickness management, I'm sure that I can make any advice you give, relating to case work/advisor work, applicable to my new role.

P.s. But please don't give me all your horror stories all at once! ;)

• Read the relevant policies and don't assume all those with more years under their belt know better than you. Come on here and read the posts- not just when you 'need' something :)
  • In reply to James Webber:

Hi James! I wonder how did you find the first few months in a new role? I am on a route to become an advisor one day too!
  • In reply to Monika:

Hi Monika,

I've been holding off saying this, but as you asked politely I will share.

Basically it hasn't gone as well as I'd hoped.

There doesn't really seem to be any real processes and procedures in place which makes learning a complete minefield.
    Also, the culture is not really to my liking.

But it's good experience, so I'm persévèring.

Sorry to hear that. But you are ansolutely right, it is good experience and nothing will surprise/scare you after this. Therefore you will find the right opportunity when the time comes! Best of luck :)
  • Steve Bridger

| 0 Posts