Chasing a career in HR & People

Hello Everyone,

I'm Eddie.

I am not your typical HR professional as my career has spanned fashion buying, account management, and recruitment. I have ample experience of managing teams and have had experience and exposure to:

• Team management
  • Recruitment
  • Talent development
  • Change management
  • ER & Disciplinary action
  • Performance management
  • Delivering training and
  • Senior stakeholder management

I was given the opportunity last Aug to take a professional career break and dedicated my time to full-time study for my CIPD level 5. My last module is in marking as we speak and I am so looking forward to being qualified. 

I would love to connect with you as I am seeking any advice on how I can successfully transition into an HR Advisor or HR Generalist role. I know I have plenty of transferable skills and first hand experience in much of what I believe would be valuable to the role. I am a hardworking and dedicated professional who wants to add real value to a business. 

I have applied to over 35 roles so far and have yet to have any bites on interviews. I know I just need to be given a chance as I know how much I can bring to a role. 

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Eddie 

• Hi Eddie, if you have not started then join and engage with your local CIPD branch - there is a good chance your next employer is at that branch.
  • I'd interview you from that "cover letter" alone :) HR professionals who have "been there and done it" in terms of working operationally and leading the "on the ground" teams of a business are so important. Make sure your CV highlights your HR-based experience more strongly that your operational - it might be worth considering a skills-based CV rather than experience-based if this is a change of path for you. I find this a useful guide: www.prospects.ac.uk/.../skills-based-cv-example
  • In reply to Steven :

Hi Steven,