Questions about starting Experience Assessment

I’ve been planning to apply for the experience assessment for the past few months, and my work have offered to part-fund this, but I’m a little under confident about choosing the correct level. If I apply for the chartered level and am unsuccessful, will I have to go back and start again with the associate level from scratch? Or can they award a lower level if they feel appropriate?

Also once I apply for the assessment - is there a set-time limit that starts straight away? I feel I should ensure I plan sufficient time in to meet the deadlines. 

Probably straightforward answers but I just want to make sure I’ve got everything right before I submit an application. 

• Hi Alexander
    Welcome to Experience Assessment! Great to hear that you are looking to get started and that you've secured part funding.
    I work as an Assessor in the EA team and so can help with your queries.
    Choosing the level - a really important first step to set yourself up for success. Our on-line Pre-Assessment Tool is your 'go to' to help your decide which membership level is right for you. So please have a go and reflect on which level your work examples would most closely match. Don't forget to check the membership standards too.
    www.cipd.co.uk/.../pre-assessment-tool

Outcomes - we have a 96%+ pass rate - that means most people are choosing the right level of membership for them following completing the pre-assessment tool and reading our membership standards info. However, if you don't meet the membership requirements following completion of the full assessment, your assessor will look to see if you have provided enough evidence to meet the next membership level down and where possible, award that. Note: this is not guaranteed and does depend on what evidence you share through the assessment process.
    So the good news is that you wouldn't have to start again!