HR officer in a academy doing out of role jobs

Hello everyone.

This is my first post here and I want to just say I have been reading various discussions, and find that we have a great community here.

I would like some knowledge, opinions and thoughts on my post.

I am a new HR officer in a academy (secondary school) and am in charge with the day to day hr admin which has a huge backlog as there has been no previous, established hr role. 

WIthout making this sound like a complaint, I rather am sharing my frustration in the hopes of getting guided in the correct path.

During my interview, I was promised progression and was offered my role in the interview. I have been working in the school for two months and have started to feel as if I am just a run around, fill in member if staff. 

Alongside my very busy schedule, I have been getting told ( I receive  an email from the principle getting told I will be doing threshold at 2pm). I then have been given another duty to hand out snacks to the year 11s at the end of the day. I also do lunch duty. 

I find it difficult to make my own plans, to have meetings and organise my workload when I get pulled to do tasks outside my role. I know they need more support staff and I am happy to help where I can however, I feel like a line is being crossed. 

I already provide help by translating to parents in meetings and telephone calls as many of the parents cannot speak English. On top of it I do lunch duty for half an hour and provide snacks at the end of the day for 40 minutes. Now I have been told to do mobile phone threshold for students which takes an additional 40-50 minutes. It is very difficult to be running around the school to be at different parts as well as staying on top of my own workload. It makes me feel panicked and rushed as I try to remember  the things I need completing by the end of the day whilst also trying to complete these additional tasks.