CIPD level 5 qualification or work experience?

Dear all:

I have a master degree in Economics and I have been working for almost two years as a project coordinator until I have discovered my interest in HR. I called one of the course for CIPD after the phone call conversation they said I can skip Level 3 and straight onto level 5 for CIPD. Since I've had a little work experience, I'm also job-hunting. This is why at the moment I'm a bit vague as to what to do since I believe qualification is crucial, it a way to expand the network(hopefully) and also a way to boost my knowledge(since I had very little), at the same time, a lot of jobs do not require such qualification if you wish to start from the bottom.( my opinion). That is why at the moment opportunity cost is being considered. Should I proceed with my qualification or should I continue looking for more job experiences?

Anyone can help me with the question would be greatly appreciated!

BR,

Paula

• Hi Paula

Can you do both? There are many ways to study for such qualifications including distance learning where you will study in your spare time. Some course providers also do part time courses where you will be required to attend a class every so often.

There are lots of threads on this topic about studying for either level 3 or 5 that might help you make an informed decision either way.
  • Do both - but experience is harder to come by so if you have chance to gain some do it!
  • In reply to Cass Clothier: