All the skills, no opportunities!

I am looking to move out of the education sector and into the HR sector. 

I believed it would be simple, I have had the pleasure of being able to completely run a charity business as it was my own. I have strong HR generalist background, I have to write all contracts, staff handbooks, recruit, complete supervisions/appraisals/return to work, staff development, daily staff management, staff performance, forecasting and budgeting, including payroll and staff bonus'. I have a staff team of 17.

I am now completing CIPD Level 5 Human Resources Management at Chichester,

But I am really struggling finding my starting role within HR, feedback is generally, they [potential employers] can not see me in a staff team, after having strong management experience?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Regards

Elouise

• Hi Elouise have you tried applying for interim posts? I worked as an interim for several years in order to gain wide experience quickly. It doesn't always work as they may be seeking specific skills but might be worth a try.I do know of managers who have " stepped down" in this way.
  • Remarkably, at a time when the number of job vacancies dramatically outstrips the number of job seekers, HR does seem to the bucking the trend. I suspect this is because many companies have realized the value added in creating an HR team that aligns as closely as possible with their strategic needs when recruitment and retention are at the heart of business planning.

However, looking at your message, I think the first mistake is to see HR as a sector when most employers don't see it as one. HR exists within the sectors they serve. So retail HR is seen as a different discipline to industrial HR, which is different to construction HR, which is different to education HR.