Starting at Level 3 or Level 7?

Hi everyone,

I'm currently working as a HR Administrator, and would like to start studying towards a CIPD qualification. I have a degree, so some people have mentioned skipping level 3 and 5 and just starting with level 7. Has anyone else done the same? I feel like starting with level 3 might be better, especially with balancing full-time work and study!

• Hi Julie. I am coming to the end of level 7. I have a degree too and 25 years in HR. I dont think that you should go in at level 7. It is a challenging course and it is not easy to pass the assignments as the expectations are hard to understand, which will mean that you need to do re-writes quickly and that can eat into your annual leave and be hard. Whilst some of it is novel learning that you dont need HR experience for (e.g. the causes of global social inequality), a lot of it will be easier if you have worked for a while and across a few different organisations. It might be worth you getting one of the L7 books to understand the breadth of study - i like the wilkinson et al contemporary human resource management. Hope that this helps and good luck. Mel
  • Hi Julia,
    How long have you been working in HR and what type of things do you deal with in your day to day role ? I'd steer clear of L7 for now, I have also studied at degree level but I wouldn't say that put me in a position to study L7.
    I started at L3 and I was working as more of a HR Generalist but honestly, in hindsight I wish I would have just started at L5 as both are time consuming and L3 was probably a little basic. I'm a HR Manager currently and studying L5, but given the experience I had when i was studying L3, I could have went straight into L5. CIPD do offer a quiz to find out which level of study would suit your role and experience, might be worth a go - link www.cipd.org/.../
  • Hi Julia

This is personal to you and your confidence as a learner and academic student.